British monarchy: brush up on 1,000 years of history in 10 minutes

    Queen Victoria statue in Worcester
    Read about Queen Victoria in our guide to The Hanoverians. Credit: VisitBritain/Daniel Bosworth
    Do you love Britain? Let others know!

    Diana Wright takes you through the ups and downs of the British monarchy from William the Conqueror to Elizabeth II in our gallop through history. Click or tap on the headlines for our quick guides

    The Normans, 1066-1154

    The Norman invasion led by William the Conqueror reshaped Britain – from the rise of castles to the French words that began to appear in the English language

    The Middle Ages, 1154-1485

    The Plantagenet era was a time of conflict, burnished by stories of Richard the Lionheart and victory at Agincourt in 1415 during the Hundred Years War

    The Tudors, 1485-1603

    The Tudor era covers the Renaissance and Henry VIII to the Golden Age and Elizabeth I – via Shakespeare and the Spanish Armada

    The Stuarts, 1603-1614

    The Stuart period witnessed the Great Plague, the Fire of London, religious and political upheaval, the English Civil Wars, a republic and the restoration of the Crown

    The Hanoverians, 1714-1901

    The British Empire reached its peak under foreign rule with four king Georges, William IV and Queen Victoria

    The Modern Era, 1901-2017

    Today’s monarchy – with Queen Elizabeth II at the helm – has adapted and reinvented itself through two world wars and social revolution. 


    Do you love Britain? Let others know!