North West Great British Buildings

Author Elizabeth Gaskell

Victorian novelist Elizabeth Gaskell counted Charles Dickens and Charlotte Brontë among her supporters. Yet she remained overlooked for many years. In recent years, thanks to the...

Wray Castle on the shore of Lake Windermere

Part of Cumbria, the modern county founded in 1974 from Cumberland, Westmorland and parts of neighbouring Yorkshire and Lancashire, the Lake District has long...

Discover Rydal Mount in Cumbria, the former home of Romantic poet, William Wordsworth, where the surrounding scenery and countryside inspired the poet’s work. The blooming...

Chris Elliott As Britain’s museums and galleries fuel our fascination with Ancient Egypt through a range of inspired exhibitions, what better time to consider the...

Promotional feature: The Historic Houses Association (HHA) has launched a new online heritage trail, The Great British Art Trail, to celebrate the great works...

English HeritageStanding close to Hadrian’s Wall, it suffered frequent attacks during the long Anglo-Scottish wars, once by Robert Bruce in person. The mortally sick...

English HeritageThe impressive remains of an abbey founded by Stephen, later King of England, including much of the east end and west tower of...

HHAThe epitome of country house life before the Great War, Holker Hall is an historic gem. The home of Lord and Lady Cavendish who...

Angharad Moran Thought to have been built over Roman ruins dating from 79AD, Muncaster Castle was first created in the 13th century after the land...

Ian WhiteA must for fans of Beatrix Potter, Hill Top in Ambleside, Cumbria, is a time capsule of the author’s life. Full of her...